Axly's Minimalist foldable rig, "Axiom" custom rig, buttonbox, wheelstand etc.
4 4

61 posts in this topic

(To see the work on the new - transformer-rig, check Page 3.)

I sat down on the side of the bed, sighed, and got back up again. Time for pen and paper, the brain had an idea and wasn't going to let me sleep until it was put on paper. This is a quite common issue for me, the brain starts planning and doing stuff all on its' own, and only lets me in in the very end when some physical action is needed. In this particular case it was how to build a reasonably compact, easily transportable racing rig. The idea was just there, I knew it was the right way to do it, I started sketching.

An axiom is a premise or starting point of reasoning. As classically conceived, an axiom is a premise so evident as to be accepted as true without controversy.

I've basically had a 9 year hitaus from simracing since the GPL-league I was driving in closed down, and even back then I was a slow driver. I've tried driving NR2003, GTR and other sims over the years without getting that buzz back, but then... My long time team mate Mats walked up to me during the TTA-races (touring cars) here in Gothenburg, placed his hand on my shoulder, and solemnly said "- rFactor 2... I'm just saying that, rFactor 2". Since he's someone I trust in these matters I bought the sim and a new G27 wheel (my old LWFFGP and Momo Racing were since long deceased). I quickly felt the joy return, and I decided to expand my playing experience a bit and go for a proper rig and triple screen. Said and done, I aquired a racing seat and two extra 27" monitors and started pondering what I really wanted. The original sketch was produced.

rigsketch.jpg