Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

What Next? Newbie Wants To Race Online

19 posts in this topic

Hey Guys,

ISR was instrumental in getting me to try PC sim racing (Race 07/GTR2) for the first time back in November. I honestly didn't know a thing about it, was a console racer since before PS One's original Gran Turismo playing Dirt, F1, GT). Instantly hooked.

I know I will never compete with the 'big boys' but oh well, Momma got start somewhere. :) To be honest I'm a little timid and nervous as I know nothing.

I decided jumping into rf2 at the start might be beneficial for me so I could learn along the way as the development progressed (I have no experience with rf1). I needed to settle down as I was going in too many directions. Meaning, I needed focus. With all the games (race/gtr2/rf2), tracks, cars I couldn't gauge my improvement, hence my focus on rf2.

OK, so obviously a newbie, not pro material (I squeaked out a 1:03.3 in the Megane at Sepang N one day) but I can tell from videos on Youtube I'm not cranking out the laptimes others can.

QUESTIONS:

As I can't compete with the pro's I'm guess I'm not league material??

Where does that leave someone like me? I want to have fun and improve but certainly not piss someone off by running with groups beating me by 4 seconds a lap.

Also, again, never having raced online in any game ...when I go on the server am I allowed to join any of the races that aren't password protected or is that against some sort of etiquette?