Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Am I too slow?

9 posts in this topic

Hi, everyone. I'm new to F1 2011. I used a Logitech MOMO wheel, went into Grand Prix mode(fuel simulation off), chose Red Bull car, circuit Spa, turn on ABS and Track Control, turn off Breaking Assist and Dynamic racing line and an automatic gear. I had no idea how to modify the car settings, so I used the default settings. My best lap time was between 1min43s to 1min44s. Was it too slow? How can I continue to improve? Thank you.

While you're in the garage, you can attach quick setups to the car. Usually the one with the least downforce is the quickest, but not always. Once you become familiar with the game, you can go to the Race Department website, look up F1 2011, and there should be setups there. However, using the setups supplied in the game should be good enough. In the beginning, use the assists until you start easily beating the AI cars, and then start turning them off.

You can always stretch out the gears for one. Until you get really good and comfortable as a sim racer, I don't think it's a bad thing to leave the TC on.

I ran with the guys at Race World Series, and we had all the assists off, and I had no problem with the back end coming around on me, unless I hit a curb or something. Just takes practice, and yes, a certain amount of talent. That's why not everyone can run without assists.

Another thing is that you are using a Momo wheel, and so you are behind on technology about 10 years. Upgrading to some better pedals and a wheel with better FFB will help too. The newer wheels and pedals have greater fidelity and provide more control, and more feedback on what the car is doing. I owned a Momo wheel, and since have owned a G25, Fanatec TurboS, and now a Fanatec GT3v2, and I can tell you with each new wheel I can feel more of the car.