Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Top 20 Reasons I Love Forza 4 and GT 5

7 posts in this topic

Top 20 Reasons I Love Forza 4 and GT 5

First, a quick overview so you can understand my perspective. Feel free to skip these first two paragraphs. I’ve been playing racing games for over 4 years now. 80% of my gaming time is spent racing. For almost 3 years I have been using a wheel and pedals - first the Microsoft Wireless Racing Wheel, then a Fanatec GT2 and clubsport wheels. The GT2 works with both consoles. (If you like racing with a standard controller, you would love it with a wheel. Double the fun.) I am not a hard-core racer. I play about 10 hours per week and consider myself to have an average level of driving skill.

I played Gran Turismo 5 for about 6 months, stopping at 91% completion and 74% of trophies acquired. I still play it online with friends. With Forza 4 I am currently playing through season 8 of the World Tour, sitting at Level 40. I do not have an Xbox Live Gold Account (yet), so my exposure to Forza is more limited. I have no experience with internet racing like iRacing or rFactor. I find the driving physics to be pretty realistic and predictable in both Forza and GT. But as I said, I’m not a hard-core racer.

The “favorites” lists below are mainly based on playing career modes.

Top 10 Reasons I Love Forza 4:

1) Graphics are spectacular - Solid frame-rate, no pop-in, no screen tear. And with the new lighting model the cars and tracks look terrific.

2) Sound is fantastic. Especially with headphones.

3) Cockpit views feel perfect. Forza is the first game I have played where I use this view exclusively. I don’t feel like I’m sitting in the back seat, as with some other games. This view also gives a better sense of when the tires begin to lose traction. Generally it makes for a more immersive experience.