Advice for noob looking at 1st sim rig
2 2

43 posts in this topic

G'day all,

I'm completely new at all this - including forums 😬

I'm looking at getting my first sim rig and wanted to check the "brains trust" to see if: a) this would be a good rig and, b) anything I should know re: maintenance or looking for wear, etc.

Setup comprises:

- Next Level Racing GTultimate V2 Simulator Cockpit

- ClubSport Wheel Base V2.5

- ClubSport Steering Wheel GT

- ClubSport Steering Wheel Universal Hub for Xbox One

- Derek Speare Design CSW Toggle and Switch hub

- ClubSport Pedals V3 inverted

- Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter

- Behringer NU3000DSP iNuke 2 Channel Power Amplifier with DSP

- Buttkicker Gamer 2 (Aus Version)

- 2 x Buttkicker LFE's

- 2 x Soundcards for Simvibe

Thanks guys - from Melbourne, Australia 👍

I'd avoid the Next Level Racing GT Ultimate V2 Simulator Cockpit. It has too much flex in the wheel mounting area and pedal deck. This will be very noticeable with Fantec CSW and pedals mounted, it's distracting and feels flimsy when it's flexing around. It's not a good feeling when it's moving around in use. The seat is pretty cheap too. It's looks fine in the pictures, but it's cheaply made and flexes too.

I owned this setup in the past and replaced the rig with an 8020 aluminum profile cockpit which is far better and completely solid.

Other than the cockpit, everything else is good stuff.

32 minutes ago, Beef36 said:

JB Hi Fi have the Next Level Racing GT Track for AUD 1,099.

Selby Acoustics have the above Next Level GT Ultimate simulator in their Hallam showroom.  Price: AUD 809

Trak Racer have an RS6 MACH 2 Racing Simulator for AUD 849 in their Lygon Street Brunswick East showroom.  Trak Racer also have a demonstrator 80/20 rig that looks fabulous for around AUD 1,200.