This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Open Wheel Round Four From Zandvoort Live 9pm Est on NAGPTV!

3 posts in this topic


Round four of the North American Grand Prix Monday night open wheel series is upon us. This evening, the series shifts to the Netherlands as the 1967 version of Zandvoort is set to play host for the first time.

It was a difficult night for many of the drivers last week at Monaco, including Philippe Simard, winner of the first two rounds of the championship, the Canadian saw his night end early due to suspension damage. Simard's DNF opened the door for someone new to reach the top step of the podium and Kevin Kirkbride impressed with a near perfect drive around the difficult streets of Monaco.

The race came down to minimizing mistakes. After Ian Jolicoeur jumped out to the early lead ahead of pole sitter Matt Taylor, the two both found themselves in trouble early each needing to make early stops for repairs. Philippe Simard found himself leading yet again on lap ten but he too could not avoid a mishap and was forced into the pits early due to damage. Throughout the early stages of the race Kevin Kirkbride, who qualified in eighth, began gaining positions due to others misfortune and by lap seventeen found himself in the lead. Kirkbride remained out front after all of the drivers cycled through their pit stops and ultimately took home the checkered flag six seconds ahead of Matt Taylor in second. Taylor's second place was impressive after falling to twelfth in the early stages of the race. Equally as impressive was Eiran Parsons, who on lap five was mired back in twenty-second and a lap down. Parsons battle back to finish on the podium and the last car on the lead lap. Monaco proved to a real challenge in the Ferrari 312, kudos to those who managed to finish in the points.

With the win last week, Kevin Kirkbride has now taken over the lead of the drivers championship with sixty-five points. Philippe Simard falls to second with fifty-two points after last weeks non-finish. Matt Taylor has moved into third with forty-seven points.

In the team championship, Kevin Kirkbride and Zack Hefner of Podium Hunters lead overall with 111 points. The French Connection's Philippe Simard and Ian Jolicoeur are second with ninety-two points while Captain Clutch Racing's Matt Taylor and Marc DeGras lie third with seventy points.

Join NAGPTV this evening for complete coverage of round four from Zandvoort. The racing begins at 9pm eastern with qualifying followed immediately after by the 200km race.

The 1967 version of Zandvoort will provide some great racing with its fast and hilly layout. Look for turn one to be the scene of some great overtaking opportunities. Don't miss a second of the racing coverage on Monday and Thursday nights here at NAGP! Follow us on Twitch and get notified when we go live! Missed the race live? Follow us on YouTube and watch the race the next day.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites