Looking to build an OSW setup with Simucube and Kollmorgen AKM motor, could use some help.
2 2

54 posts in this topic

Hello,

If you're impatient just skip down to the questions bit. :-)

I've been lurking this community for a long time, but now I have a good reason to post.  My old Fanatec GT3 RS V2 is dying and I've decided to go all out for an OSW (Open Sim Wheel) setup.  I've spent weeks researching like crazy and reading literally hundreds of forum pages here and at many other forums.  I've even been using Google Translate to read French, German, and Italian forums which seem to have a lot of good information as well, even though it is tedious.  I'm a big computer geek, but I'm not an electrical engineer so I'm learning as I go when it comes to power supplies and motor specs.  I'll present a summary of the things I've learned to help others as I learn myself.

Here are some examples of forum resources I've found on OSW primarily contributed by the famous "Beano":

http://www.isrtv.com/forums/topic/19813-leo-bodnar-simsteering-v2/
http://isiforums.net/f/showthread.php/24986-Project-BruteForce2-IONI-based-DIY-DD-FFB-Wheel
https://forum.virtualracing.org/showthread.php/95803-Project-BruteForce2-IONI-based-DIY-DD-FFB-Wheel-(Extensive-worklog)
http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthread.php?t=1139613
http://www.racingfr.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=51856