Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

My DIY wood sim racing rig - SOLID sub-$100 setup

1 post in this topic

First off, this is my first build here on ISR, so I'll give a little introduction.

I've had my DIY rig for about 2 years now and have made small, subtle upgrades/mods to it over the years. For the most part, I followed the plans of the DIY Deathmobile for the initial build. After coming home from deployment and realizing the rig I designed while underway hadn't taken into account a lot of the small, but important features like seat height and wheel angle, I decided I'd use the Deathmobile as my starting point. Having some cash saved up, I bought the Thrustmaster TX Wheel for the Xbox One. If you have any questions or comments regarding the rig, I'm happy to answer them.

Future plans:

• New Skylake PC build (gonna wait for CPU and GPU prices to come down a little)
  • RC car shock brake mod (very soon)
  • Triple screen setup
  • SimVibe
  • 2 more bass shakers with an upgraded amp, of course
  • Add a handbrake
  • Button box
  • Dash screen

Build progress up to this point:

09SEP14: Built the base rig using 2x4's, wood screws, and 3/4" MDF mostly following the ISR Deathmobile plans. Black carpet was purchased from Home Depot and installed later that week.

• I placed the wheel deck upright supports at a 90 degree angle compared to the Deathmobile plans since I wasn't sure how sturdy it would be with the vibration. Still not sure if it made a difference as this rig is absolutely solid and I haven't wanted to swap the supports just to find out.
  • Seat was an old drivers seat out of one of my '91 Toyota MR2's. The seat base wasn't flat on all 4 corners, and since I was gonna swap out the seat soon, I never bolted it down. The seat did have the stock slider, though, which was nice.