Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Shift 2 Steering Wheel

25 posts in this topic

I'm quite new to racing games, and I'm looking into Shift 2.

I want a steering wheel for it, and i was wondering what is the best to get with my budget which is about $150.

I played with the Ferrari f430 steering wheel on a friends PC and i loved it, but I'm not sure if that would work on Shift 2.

Pretty much any wheel will work on any PC Game if you have up to date drivers for the wheel. Sometimes a game may need a patch to use a certain wheel but that is usually because they game has buggy coding. I don't know about every wheel available on the market but I am guessing all the ones in that video the guy above me posted is Windows 7 compatible. Those are the 3 main factors of any peripheral you plan on using on a PC.

If you find a sale and/or rebate on a G27, or save up a little more, that would be the best deal. Shift allowed for use of both clutch and H shifter, I can only assume Shift 2 will also. Made the game much more fun. G27 gives you both a clutch and H shifter.

Otherwise, sticking to around $150, you've got 3 options I think:

Thrustmaster Rally GT Force Feedback Pro Clutch Edition

http://www.amazon.com/Thrustmaster-Rall ... 473&sr=8-3

Logitech PlayStation 3 Driving Force GT Racing Wheel

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-PlayStat ... 609&sr=8-1

Fanatec Porsche 911 GT3 RS V2 Wheel - US...but you'd need a little more to get the basic pedals.

http://www.fanatec.de/webshop/new_usa/p ... 3c94956d34

The Fanatec is pretty clearly the best wheel, and not that much more to add pedals. You can always upgrade later if you get into it.

SHIFT 2 DROPS SUPPORT FOR FANATEC WHEELS?

On 03-07-2011 Speed Hunters/Rod Chong (NFS S2 Creative Director) stated in his Shift 2 FAQ posted on Speed Hunters Blog that the Fanatec wheel was supported on PS3.

Its listed directly below the Silver NFSCOM_McLAREN_MERCEDESBENZ_SLR_722 picture on the post.