Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Graphics kinda sucks... no?

11 posts in this topic

i Know im new to all sim racing games, but after driving assetto corsa for a few days,  I tried Rfactor2 (the honda civic touring demo) and although the physics are good, visually its very old. looks like something from over 5-6 years ago.

Any plans to upgrade this game in the future? is it worth buying the whole package now?

Rfactor in general has always suffered with poor eye candy....some can live with it and some cant!

I for one cant!!! Like you say....extremely dated and I do believe the graphics really help

with the immersion ...so IMO...poor graphics = no immersion!

I'm sure they will improve over time.....but I wouldn't hold your breath!!

I ditched rfactor2 a while back!

Here is a comparison video of AC and rF2 Silverstone. I don't recognize the "extremely dated" statement, perhaps you are not running the correct settings. Also it's a good idea to run rF2 at something like 9 AM or 3 PM track time, at 12 PM sun casts directly from above so there are no shadows etc.

From what I hear, rF2 is still using DirectX 9. DX11 support is coming soon. ISI recently improved memory utilization as well as released a 64bit version, so improvements are being made just not as quickly as other sims. 

I have not been playing rfactor2 for three months now so i cant tell if they improved from there.

I had always problem before running with titan card 16gb of ram ssd so with high end parts the game didnt run smooth especially with triple screen plus there is something with the display that always made my eyes hurt.