Best Site for Car Setups
2 2

11 posts in this topic

Hi All

I'm relatively new to iRacing and currently hold a C licence for both Oval (3.65) & Road (3.41).

I mainly stick to the fixed events for a couple of reasons.

1. My lack of experience in setting up each vehicle.

2. I work 50 hours a week and don't have enough time to race, let alone practice.

3. I like to race the driver, not the setup.

Anyway, I would like to do more open events but I'm getting killed by guys with superior car setups.  

Can anyone recommend a good source for setups? 

Couple of newbie questions..............

Does each setup only apply to a particular car/track combination?

Can you have a general setup for each car for use on multiple tracks?

Are there some common basic changes you can make to car setup to improve handling?

I would really like to see Darin do a show just on this very topic for vehicles such as the Mazda, Caddy, Skip & other popular models.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers

Mike 

You can usually find setups in the forum for the car. Just select the series you want, then click on Forum just beneath the car icon. For the Star Mazda Championship, for example, there are forum threads to help you get started in setting up the Star Mazda, and also a Setup Shop thread where other drivers have shared their setups for anyone to use, and they are listed by track. Just make sure you read the post before just downloading a setup and using it, you dont want to load a qualify setup for your race and find that you run out of fuel. 

And, also remember "SLOW IN & FAST OUT"  and that's goes Double for Both the MX5 and the Skippy :shock:  There just isn't to much you can adjust with Skippy either. You just have to Learn to drive it..Basically