Triple monitors for iRacing PC requirements

24 posts in this topic

Hey there

I am looking to get into iRacing and was wondering how much RAM and which graphics cards would run a triple monitor setup for a reasonable price, i am not an expert at graphics cards and computer bits and thought someone on here could steer me in the right direction

Thanks  

nVidia GTX 660's and 660 Ti's will be really good. And you'll only NEED about 8 gigs of ram but it's better to have more though 8 will be OK.

I have a GTX660TI in an older quad core AMD system with 8 gigs of ram and my performance with triples is about 80 FPS. It was super easy to use to set up the triples too, I'd recommend it.

Its not just the ram, it is also the vram.  I have 3 24" asus monitors.  When you are at a higher res which you will be either in landscape or portrait, you want more than 2 gigs of vram for each card.  I would get the 4 gig cards min.  They handle the extra res boost and anything else you want to turn on in the settings.  iracing runs fine on 2 gigs, but I would just get the 4 gigs cards and be safe.

The 4 gigs ones are pretty expensive though... Some 680 FTW's and 670 FTW's cost quite a bit though... Still my 2 gig one does iRacing pretty amazingly!

I recommend a single 3gb 7970.

The 7970 is able to drive 3 1080p displays easily in iRacing.

I'd suggest 8gb of system ram, but 4gb would suffice.

A 3gb 7950 would suffice if cost is a consideration, you just might have to settle for a bit less anti-aliasing or some other moderation.

S1mRacer got a pretty good setup. Go with the 8 gigs of ram instead of 4 since you will later on be happy with your purchase the 7970 is a great card since it's not a 2 gig card but not a hyper expensive 4 gig card.

Wow thanks all of you this has been really helpful :) i have two intel 2140 CPU's both at 1.6GHz, will that suffice for what you are suggesting :) again thanks ;)